“Let your light shine.”  Matthew 5:16


At Broadbottom CE (VC) Primary School we share the ethos and values of the Church of England community, for the benefit of the Children, Families, Staff and Governors we serve. As a church school, we strive for each child to flourish and thrive. The School mission is  to create and maintain a safe learning environment where all children and adults feel safe, secure and valued and know they will be listened to and taken seriously. Our school is committed to the principles outlined in ‘Working Together to Safeguard Children 2019’ and implements policies and procedures which promote safeguarding and the emotional and physical well-being of children and staff. We recognise that all adults within our school, including permanent and temporary staff, volunteers and governors, have a full and active part to play in protecting our pupils from harm.

We will work with parents to build an understanding of our responsibilities to ensure the welfare of all children, including the need for referrals to other agencies in some situations. We ensure that all appropriate measures are applied in relation to everyone who works in the school who is likely to be perceived by the children as a safe and trustworthy adult including e.g. volunteers and staff employed by contractors.

Safer recruitment practice includes scrutinising applicants, verifying identity and academic or vocational qualifications, obtaining professional and character references, checking previous employment history and ensuring that a candidate has the health and physical capacity for the job.

If you wish to clarify any of our policies and practices, then please contact the school office to arrange a meeting to see the Head Teacher. Our children’s safety and welfare is paramount.

School Designated Safeguarding Lead is Mrs J Marrow

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead is Miss L Hawkins

Designated Safeguarding Governor is Ms K Boothroyd

To view information regarding Operation Encompass please click on the link below:


Controlling access to school premises

Anyone attending school premises does so by permission of the headteacher. Any behaviour that falls below that considered acceptable will result in individuals being asked to leave the school premises.

Please follow the link below for guidance on attending school premises.



Keeping Children Safe In Education

This is statutory guidance from the Department for Education (‘the Department’) issued
under Section 175 of the Education Act 2002 (as amended), the Education (Independent
School Standards) Regulations 2014, the Non-Maintained Special Schools (England)
Regulations 2015 and the Apprenticeships, Skills, Children and Learning Act 2009 (as
amended). Schools and colleges in England must have regard to it when carrying out
their duties to safeguard and promote the welfare of children. For the purposes of this
guidance children includes everyone under the age of 18.

Keeping children safe in education 2022 (publishing.service.gov.uk)


Digital Safety

Vodaphone produces a Digital Parenting Magazine and the latest edition can be viewed via the link below. People across the digital landscape, including doctors, researchers, children and parents have gathered to find ways to explore different ways  to build happy digital lives.



Support for Parents

See the useful website tab for support groups avaiable for parenst and families.